In the land of the SEO butcher content is king

Another month goes by another bit of flux, another algorithm update named after a black and white zoo animal and another month of agencies worrying about client positions. Since the last Algorithm update (Penguin) which deindexed and apparently penalised a lot of sites, the whole landscape of SEO has changed. Stories have emerged about negative SEO companies hitting its rivals and genuine white hat businesses getting slapped. However now is not the time to panic, now is the time to trust your SEO company and protect yourself from the SEO butcher that is Google..but remember in the world of the SEO butcher CONTENT IS KING

Why is content so important?

Content is what makes Google the search engine that it is, Google strives to give you the information that your require as quickly and as efficiently as possible. Furthermore, Google can only read content, the Google bot will simply crawl your site and read the information on your site. Google cannot manually check every site, Google however can check the age of your site and adjust how frequently your site is crawled.

The main reason that on-page content is considered so important is that it is the one area that cannot be manipulated off-page, yes Google needs a number of ways to check a sites quality but I can guarantee that of all the methods that will change, the one thing that will never change is the value of on-page content.

How to make the most of your content

The best way to make the most of your content is to provide relevant up to date information. Google will see that you are creating new content and will consider your content to be more important than sites with older content. Google does not want to provide content that has gone stale and will prefer a site that provides a lot of new relevant information than a page that has one page that has not changed for years.

Creating more indexable pages

By creating new content your are also creating more indexable pages which can mean two things, firstly your site cam be found for more terms (which are mentioned in the title of your page) and secondly Google will see a site that has a high number of indexed pages with unique content, to be as more important than a site that has a couple of pages and has not been updated for a long time.


Part 2 – Guest Posting leads to iPad purchase

With the growing demand for guest posts I have decided to purchase a tablet device (iPad). We all dream of being able to relax whilst we blog about our favourite subject and make money. Although it is highly unlikely you will be able to make enough money so that you can earn a living from blogging you can certainly increase your stock by being a well known blogger out expert in your field.

With Google valuing content and people struggling to keep their blog up to date they will be more than happy to post your content. The more index pages a blog has, the more important Google will see the site. So far I have seen positive results and come across some quality useful content.

Price of Guest Posting
I find that £25 for a quality 500+ word article has been the cheapest price and with only a few guest posts a month required to make a significant improvement to the rankings of the site.

Furthermore since the Penguin update anchor text have less power which means that sites cannot just concentrate on pushing individual keywords off page and instead push a site towards providing relevant on page content.

Guest Post Trail Service
A number of SEO agencies with offer you a guest post trial service and if you have been effected by the Penguin update it is worth taking up the offer. If your agency has used paid linking in the past then they will probably have done so because it was the technique that worked before as long as they have offered an alternative solution then it is fine to trust your agency moving forward.


Guest blogging increase leads to iPad investment

Googles attempt to convince us to hate black and white animals has continued with the release of a new update called ‘Penguin.’ Rumoured to be the over optimisation penalty that Matt Cutts had spoken about the Penguin algorithm update has lead to a lot of angry comments towards Google.

Matt Cutts has already admitted mistakes have been made however this may be little consolation for people that have spent a lot of money on SEO/link building. The fact is and not many will admit it, SEO companies have used content networks and low quality links for years because it worked. The new change has wiped out a lot of that work but it may not be a and things after all.

The change opens the door up to people doing link building the right way, building relationships and gradually building links rather than 100s of low quality links.

Guest Posting is the future
If you want a solutions look no further than guest posting, guest posting provides unique content to the blog author (valuable to the site owner) and in return you can usually get s quality links back.

part 2 coming soon….


Building relationship the future of building links.

Everybody in SEO is aware that the most powerful offpage part of SEO is link building, however link building can mean different things to different people from directory submission to article submission. For years businesses have been able to gain the upper hand by simply having the most links irrespective of overall quality. However, the game has now (thankfully) changed. Google now gives strength to guest post links meaning that it is difficult to suddenly get 1000s of links over night.

Unfortunately for a lot of big SEO agencies this is going to be critical to their business as standard linking packages are not possible anymore.

brand exposure
Where the change does benefit a business is by building exposure of a brand or product as not only are you gaining a valuable link, you are also putting your brand/product in front of the right audience.

The change is certainly a game change but will expose your SEO agency for what they are and level the playing field


Death of BMR opens the door for white hat SEO and freelance SEO

As Build My Rank (BMR) said, they “had a good run” and they certainly did! For a long time Build My Rank have been the leader in content networks priding themselves on the quality of their service and the quality of the content they hosted on their site. For a number of SEO agencies BMR have been their main source of links and the issue was, they worked and worked well, however Google did not like content networks and since the Panda update has slowly begun to destroy the networks. Build my rank thought they were safe because of the quality of the service they offered however on 19th March the run was over with the announcement for BRM that they will be offering refunds and deindexing the sites.

Why does this leave you as a customer?
If you have been with an agency for a long time and then suddenly seen a drop the chances are your agency was using Build My Rank. To be honest theirs not much you can do about this and if it has been working for years then why would they do differently. The question you should be asking is, now that the Algorithm has changed what are you going to do?

If you have a good SEO agency they will hold their hands up straight away and say we are changing the way we are doing linking and start to gain lost grounds.

Freelance SEO gets a boost
Due to the changes to the algorithm, it is not so much how many links you have but where your links are from and how good they are. Due to this the door has been opened for smaller businesses to provide a service that can compete on a corporate level.


February Google Algorithm change a game changer?

The recent Google Algorithm change could be a game changer! With Google stating that the are changing the way they look at link evaluation it could mean that the numbers game is finally over. Research suggests that more focus is being pushed on quality links from guest posts and web 2.0 sites rather than looking at the number of links a site has from content networks such as BMR.

Being a huge fan of Hubpages, Squidoo and Tumblr for a long time it is great news. Many top SEO agencies may suffer, although if you are doing things the right way it should never matter. The question to ask is, if your agency has been penalised have they admitted the game has changed or continued down the same route?. Albert Einstain once said Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Maybe you should ask yourself whether it is time to change your strategy?

If you are company based in Wigan and looking for a SEO agency the we currently have a special offer available for Wigan based businesses. Get in touch martin@dms-internetmarketing.co.uk.

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How much can you earn through Google Adsense

How much can you earn through Google Adsense. Google’s AdSense is a fascinating revenue-sharing opportunity for small, medium and large web sites. Some webmasters are designing brand new sites specifically for serving AdSense text ads. (It’s against the AdSense rules to design a site purely for AdSense, so you’ll want to include a few affiliate links or sell your own product, too.)

I read an article about how to increase adsense revenue from associate programs here is the analysis from the article Let’s say you have a goal of earning $100,000 a year from AdSense. Is that possible?

Let’s see … $100,000 divided by 365 = $274 a day. So your goal is to produce either:

  • 274 pages which earn $1 a day
  • or 548 pages which earn 50 cents a day
  • or 1096 pages which earn 25 cents a day

The following are hypothetical cases.

  • To earn $1 a day per page, you need, per page… 400 visitors, 5% click-through rate (CTR ) and average 5c payout.
  • Or 200 visitors, 10% CTR and an average 5c payout. Or 100 visitors, 10% CTR, and an average 10c payout.
  • Or 100 visitors, 5% CTR, and an average 20c payout

Let’s assume you choose a goal somewhere around the middle, say aiming for 50 visitors per page and want 274 pages earning $1 a day.

You’d need 274 x 50 = 13,700 pageviews a day.

Does that sound too tough? If so, you’d better look for more profitable keywords and ways to improve your click-through rates. Let’s try a different scenario, You choose more profitable keywords and make your $1 on average per page from, say, 10 visitors. 274 x 10 = 2740 pageviews a day,

That’s looking easier to achieve, If your average visitor sees 3 pages, you now need 913 unique visitors a day. Is that too tough to achieve in your niche? If so, create two sites, each attracting half that number, 456 unique visitors, a day, Can’t achieve those click-through rates and payouts?

Then you’ll either need more pages on your sites on more niche sites. Please note, because of the AdSense rules, these are all hypothetical cases. I’m not allowed to give real cases. Real CTR rates and payouts vary hugely.

Choose the goal which best matches your site or sites. Then start building keyword-rich pages containing well researched, profitable keywords, and get lots of high quality links to your site. For example, if your site is about topics such as debt consolidation, web hosting or asbestos-related cancer, you’ll earn much more per click than if it’s about free things.

On the other hand, if you concentrate only on top-paying keywords, you’ll face an awful lot of tough competition. What you want are keywords that are high in demand and low in supply, So do some careful keyword research before you build your pages.


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